top of page


The Bill Maness Good Samaritan Scholarship celebrates and encourages Atlanta high school seniors to rise above their personal and financial challenges in order to help those in need.

The Scholarship is awarded to a graduating and college-accepted senior who has best exemplified a commitment to selfless service to others. It is a four-year scholarship awarded annually. Recipients are held accountable for maintaining a satisfactory GPA and continuing good deeds in their community.

Atlanta area high school counselors identify graduating seniors who have met the BMGSS criteria for scholastic and humanitarian accomplishment. A Selection Committee made up of BMGSS Board members interviews a select group of applicants before awarding the recipient. It is a deliberate consideration evaluation process.

Scholarship Recipients: 

  • Sade Stanton – 2010 graduate, University of Florida

  • Jessica Sims-Green – 2010 graduate, The University of West Georgia

  • Arman Lakes – 2011 graduate, Clark Atlanta University

  • Dontavious Taylor – 2013 graduate, Morehouse College

  • Alexandra Liggins – 2015 graduate, University of Notre Dame

  • Taylor Walker – 2015 graduate, Boston University

  • Tiaya Bajjo – Georgia State University

  • Shanise Miller – Clayton State University

  • Gerald Davis –  Howard University

  • Alecia Kenney – Albany State University

  • Renea Brown – Atlanta Metropolitan State College

  • J.D. Capelouto – Boston University

  • Jalen Coleman – Northwestern University

  • Darryl Terry, II – Georgia Institute of Technology

  • Uwezo Flewellen, II – Georgia Institute of Technology

  • Josh Duarte - University of Georgia


Board Members:

  • Alice Anderson - Chairman

  • Ryan English - Vice Chairman

  • Cooper Anderson

  • Blake Bowen

  • James Cross

  • Teresa Cross

  • Brooks Harvard

  • Mark McManus

  • Leigh McManus

  • Reagan Ramsey

  • Alison Waterson

  • Taylor Winn

bottom of page